Apprenticeship Curriculum

Apprenticeships are standards based. During your apprenticeship you will be required to follow a specific course of training and complete a series of assessments to confirm that you’ve reached the required standard. Each apprenticeship programme is based on specific skills and standards determined and agreed to by craftspeople within the particular field. In order to pass an apprenticeship you must meet these standards.

Phases of training

An apprenticeship is generally made up of seven phases, three off-the-job and four on-the-job. To become a fully qualified craftsperson it usually takes four years, in which time you will spend around 40 weeks off-the-job training.  The diagram below gives you a general outline of the phases of an apprenticeship.


Off-the-job training phases 2, 4, 6 are provided by; 

  • Phase 2 – Educational Training Board Training Centre
  • Phase 4 – Institute of Technology or College of Further Education
  • Phase 6 – Institute of Technology or College of Further Education. 

During phase 2 at Waterford and Wexford Training you are not required to pay fees. However during phase 4 and 6, fees are required and are to be paid to the Institute of Technology or College of Further Education providing the training. 

The on-the-job training phases are provided by your employer, who must be a qualified and recognised training provider. 

General duration

The general duration of an apprenticeship is a minimum of four years, provided that you have achieved the following: 

  • Attended all off-the-job training phases when scheduled by ETB
  • At the first attempt, passed all off-the-job module assessments 
  • Passed all on-the-job assessments and ensure results are returned to ETB on time.